RSS

Best man speech

28 Sep

brothers

Good evening Ladies and Gentleman

It has been quite a day for all of us, but no doubt, an even longer one for Wouter and Sophie. So my hearty congratulations and best wishes for the bride and groom on their wedding day.

Tonight I want to take a moment to explain to Sophie, and everyone else, a little bit about what can be expected from Wouter. After all, I’ve had 25 years worth of experience to draw on.

Wouter, can be a bit dopey at times. However, since I’ve been trained scientifically, I know I have to provide evidence for this claim. So what I’ll do is illustrate to you what I mean.

The first incident I’ll relate goes back a fair while. Wouter was, -1 days old, it was cold, it was night, and I was very miserable. I was unhappy because I had ear ache. Instead of staying in bed being miserable, the next thing I knew I was in the car, bitch black outside, and still miserable. To compound things further, I ended up in this large weird building, with fluoro lights clutching at my teddy bear and being left alone. So, instead of being at home being sick, I was at the hospital because Wouter decided it was time to arrive. This has set a trend, subsequently in which Wouter pretty much does what Wouter does.

Another dopey incident that comes to mind was when we went on holiday at the Sunshine coast many years ago. It was evening (again), and Wouter spotted a pool table. Now, Wouter was very keen on pool. So we started playing. Normal human beings would finish a pool game in about 15 minutes. We on the other hand, were at it for much, much longer. Personally, I wanted to quit the whole time, but Wouter would not let me. You see, he was going to hold on for dear life, probably realising that this is the last time that we are going to play pool. Try as he (and myself) may, the balls would not sink. It was Einstein that defined insanity as doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. By that standard, that night Wouter could be considered certifiable.

The last major dopey move Wouter has made occurred at University, and quite recently too. Essentially, he decided that he needed to do a PhD in engineering, modelling fusion reactor fluid flows. A dopey move, I should I know.

At this point all of you may be tempted to think that Wouter have dopey weaknesses. However, I like to think of them as dopey strengths. I believe what these stories illustrate is something about who Wouter really is. He is his own man. He is persistent, he is tough minded, he is smart and can take on large difficult projects and complete them. Precisely the sort of qualities that will serve in a marriage.

What is very nice is that, these qualities, can be associated with a man who can be a hard individual, but not Wouter. Instead, all these traits are tempered by someone who is gracious, well mannered and very loving. And I’m sure that is what Sophie has seen and admires, as do the rest of us.

There is one more dopey thing Wouter has done. The best way to explain it would be to quote the following:

1 Corinthians 1:21-25 For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe. Jews demand signs and Greeks look for wisdom, but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength.

Wouter is a Christian. In the eyes of the rest of the world, he has made a major mistake, the ultimate dopey move. However, unlike the rest of the world, Wouter can stare at the jaws of infinity, because he has made the right call, to follow our God and saviour Jesus Christ, which is our strength. It pleases me no end to know that his wife, Sophie, is a Christian also. Because if they both abide in Christ, the marriage will succeed.

With that, my blessing on Wouter and Sophie for the coming years. Remember to trust in the Lord always, for he will give you rest.

Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
